Skip to main content

Academic Calendar

A working group in Division of Academic Affairs led by Interim Provost Richard Starnes has been developing a comprehensive and evolving plan for the fall 2020 academic experience. This plan is being created with the anticipation that we will be utilizing a variety of instructional arrangements with student success, faculty expertise and flexibilty, and staff support as our guides.

Please note that all plans for resumption of operations for fall 2020 may very well shift due to changing conditions. The last few months have shown that information and responses to new data about COVID-19 require a high level of flexibility and patience.

Fall 2020 Changes

The adjustment to the academic calendar maximizes instructional time in the early fall and minimizes the opportunities for students, as well as faculty and staff, to travel away from campus on extended breaks.

This strategy should reduce exposure to and spread of coronavirus and also should align the academic calendar as to avoid a densely populated campus in late fall and early winter, when the potential for a significant resurgence of the virus may be highest.

  • First day of classes: Monday, Aug. 17
  • Labor Day holiday: Monday, Sept. 7
  • The university will not observe fall break
  • The last day to withdraw from a class and receive a “W”: Friday, Oct. 23
  • Advising Day: Tuesday, Oct. 27
  • Last day of face-to-face classes: Friday, Nov. 20
  • Classes on Monday, Nov. 23, and Tuesday, Nov. 24, will be held online
  • Thanksgiving break: Wednesday, Nov. 25, - Friday, Nov. 27
  • Final exams will be held online between Monday, Nov. 30, and Saturday, Dec. 5
  • Winter break will begin at 5 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 5
  • We anticipate commencement ceremonies will be held Saturday, Dec. 12, for the Spring 2020 graduates (rescheduled from May) and Sunday, Dec. 13, for the Summer and Fall 2020 graduates

Any potential changes to the 2021 spring semester will be announced in the weeks to come.

Course Instruction

Instruction for residential courses for the fall 2020 semester will be offered through a blend of face-to-face, online, hybrid, and modified hybrid course delivery.

Learn More

Office of Web Services