Senior Citizen Audit Tuition Waiver
In Fall 2017, the General Assembly authorized the Board of Governors to enact legislation
permitting those who have attained 65 years of age or older and who meet applicable
admission standards to audit courses offered without payment of any required registration
fee or tuition on a space available basis.
- A senior auditor must be:
- At least 65 years old as of the start of the applicable term; and
- A North Carolina resident, as determined by the institution
- Senior auditors must be in good standing with the institution of higher education
and must not have any financial holds on any institutional accounts.
- The constituent institutions may require senior auditors to provide documentation
necessary to prove eligibility, for example, proof of age and residence through a
driver’s license, state identification card, or other government-issued document.
While senior auditors must have domicile in North Carolina, they do not need to be
“residents for tuition purposes” as defined in G.S. 116-143.1(b), and do not need
to seek a determination through the Residency Determination Service (RDS).
- A constituent institution may prohibit a senior auditor from auditing courses if it
determines that the auditor poses a threat to the health and safety of the campus
community. In making such a determination, constituent institutions may make reasonable
and appropriate inquiries into the senior auditor’s criminal and school disciplinary
background. Such inquiries may include a criminal background check, with the senior
If a senior auditor registers for more than four credit hours, he/she will need to
comply with the immunization requirements under North Carolina state law. Please contact
Health Services at 828-227-7640 or HealthServices@wcu.edu for more information.
Senior auditors may only audit courses if there is space available in a course and
only after all new and currently enrolled students have had an opportunity to register
for the applicable term.
Auditing additional classes in subsequent terms does not require a new application.
However, if a senior auditor misses two or more consecutive semesters, he/she must
reapply for admission.
For more information about the application and registration process, please contact
the Registrar’s Office at 828.227.7216 or RegistrarsOffice@wcu.edu .
Tuition Waiver for Family Members of Deceased or Disabled Emergency Workers
Certain family members of emergency workers killed or permanently disabled in the
line of duty may become eligible for tuition-free enrollment.
- The deceased or disabled emergency worker (firefighter, volunteer firefighter, law
enforcement officer, or rescue squad member) must have been a North Carolina legal
resident (domiciliary), in active service or training for active service at the time
of death or disability occurring in the line of duty.
- The emergency worker's death or disability must have occurred on or after October
- The emergency worker must have been employed by the State of North Carolina or any
of its departments, agencies, or institutions, OR a county, city, town or other political
subdivision of the State of North Carolina.
- The applicant must be either a child or unremarried widow or widower of a deceased
emergency worker killed in the line of duty, OR a spouse or a child (at least age
17, but not yet 23) of an emergency worker who became permanently and totally disabled
as a result of a traumatic injury sustained in the line of duty as an emergency worker.
- The applicant must qualify academically for admission to Western Carolina University
and there must be space available in the course(s) for which he or she intends to
- Documentation must be submitted to the Bursar no later than the first day of class
of the term for which the waiver is sought.
The following documents are required as proof of eligibility for this tuition waiver:
- To prove permanent and total disability of an emergency worker: Documentation of the
permanent and total disability from the N.C. Industrial Commission
- To prove cause of death of an emergency worker: Certification of the cause of death
from The Department of State Treasurer; or the appropriate city or county law enforcement
agency that employed the deceased;
The administrative agency for the fire department or fire protection district funded
under the Department of State Auditor;
The administrative agency having jurisdiction over any paid firefighters of all counties
- To prove the parent/child relationship: applicant's birth certificate or legal adoption
- To prove the marital relationship: applicant's marriage certificate
For more information about the Emergency Worker Tuition Waiver, please contact the
Student Accounts Office at 828.227.7324 or email@example.com . Documents may be scanned and emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.